MIR-Blue

App: MIR-Blue, Google Play Store

Published: September 2013

The application name is a play on my last name, my avatar name, and “My IR-Blue”. My previous post documents another Google Play app written for the IR-Blue hardware, the same hardware my MIR-Blue app is written to. The hardware is one of the deliverables from the Kickstarter project.

From my last post:

The Kickstarter hardware had been delivered mid-Summer, but when I began using it with 0.86 from Google Play I experienced some issues including lockups and errant behavior, as well as tiny fonts that made it more difficult than necessary to read. I began working with the 0.60 source in August 2013, when time freed up from more pressing issues. Upon discovering even more shortcomings of that open sourced code, and desiring more features than available even in 0.86 as well as corrections to the issues I experienced on my HTC Sensation, I set about creating my own application. I used the open sourced 0.60 as the baseline, improving and extending it. I also reported some issues I discovered in 0.60 source and the 0.86 apk in to the original author, along with suggestions for improvements — some based upon my own design and code changes to 0.60 baseline.

I forked the IR-Blue github. The wiki there documents the changes I implemented upon 0.60, and culminated in an apk in the Google Play store, called MIR-Blue, available for Free. The post documenting it is at MIR-Blue.

I wrote a number of new Classes and a Service, which I can share with my other upcoming projects, and reworked the MIR-Blue source to use them. Once they are well tested I intend to release those that others may find useful. [Update: a first addition ClsWheel 1.7 is proposed to Class author]

Since there are some costs to me for these efforts, if you find value in any of my work, please consider a donation.

Please consider a donation if you find value in my free/open source contributions.

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “MIR-Blue”

  1. Mardaso Says:

    Great to see that you’re picking this up!
    But it looks like I can’t install the App on my Android devices.

    • Mr23 Says:

      I set it to US only, since it was my first G-Play submission I wanted to be sure the kinks were worked out first, before opening it up world wide.
      I’ll be putting an apk up at github pretty soon. I’ve decided to fix the modal-dialog-scrambles-AsyncStreams problem first.
      If you follow the github (forked from Andy’s), you will be notified when it is posted.

  2. Scott Kleeman Says:

    No problems yet on my S3 can’t wait to check it out further….. thank you!

  3. Mardaso Says:

    Any updates? When will the apk available?

  4. Mr23 Says:

    Published world-wide now on GP. I shelved the B4A MIR-Blue as-is for now, priorities.

Leave a Reply

